top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturekaycielanpher

#4. Research in Mauritius

Updated: May 10, 2019

Today was a very productive day. I started off my morning traveling through the fields of sugar cane to visit the Mauritius Oceanographic Institute (MOI). I went to MOI with three scientists from my upcoming research expedition, a professor from the Seoul National University and two principle researchers from the Korean Institute of Ocean Science and Technology (KIOST). These researchers gave a presentation to the scientists at MOI describing exactly what we will be doing on the ship for our 28 day journey. The four of us were then graciously shown around the MOI facilities. While giving us a tour of their labs, the local ocean scientists described many of the projects they are currently working on around Mauritius.


After a very large lunch, I went to the R/V Isabu to see that all of my remaining gear had finally arrived! I spent the remainder of the afternoon unpacking all of my boxes and setting up as much of my work area on the boat as possible. There is still a lot to do to get my research area ready to use, but I have definitely made a great start! Tonight is my last night staying at my hotel on the island. Tomorrow I will be moving into my cabin on the ship and completing my final preparations for the research expedition.




39 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page