top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturekaycielanpher

#3. Day 1 in Mauritius

Updated: May 10, 2019

I am in Mauritius and I am definitely feeling jet lagged! I landed around 5:30 in the morning local time, which was before the sun was up. Immediately after getting off the plane, even just walking through the airport, I could tell that I was on a tropical island. After gathering all of my luggage, it was an hour drive across the island from the airport to my hotel. On the drive I saw a lot of wonderful views of Mauritius as the sun was rising. It was especially nice to see the changes in the landscape.


At the hotel, I was greeted with a beautiful and delicious breakfast buffet while I waited for a room to be ready. As soon as I was in my room I got to take a much needed shower after two days of travel! I took a few short naps throughout the afternoon to try as hard as I could to keep my jet lag at bay.


Today, I also met up with our local port agents and saw the R/V Isabu for the first time in person! So far, I am the only scientist for this research expedition that has landed on the island. All of the South Korean research scientists will land in Mauritius later tonight. Therefore, I did not do any preparations with my gear on the boat today. Although, I was able to see that most of my luggage has made it onto the boat. I am still waiting on a few items to get through customs, so I have been working with the port agents to ensure that those packages will come through tomorrow! 




82 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page